, ,

The Smiths Announce Deluxe Reissue Of The Queen is Dead

‘Vicar in a Tutu’ is our fave


    No matter your age or music preference, you’ve probably heard of The Smiths (and no, we don’t mean Will Smith and his family). The iconic English rock band graced our airwaves during the ’80s until their devastating split in 1987 – which we’re still not over, btw. Since their disbandment, the band have kept their music under wraps, and unlike other legends, have not delved into their back catalog of music. Until now.

    the smiths reissue album the queen is dead

    On October 20th this year, Morrissey, Johnny Marr, Andy Rourke and Mike Joyce will release deluxe reissue of their most iconic album, The Queen is Dead. Released in 1986, The Queen is Dead is regarded as The Smiths most successful albums, with many music critics even going so far as to call it one of the greatest albums of all time. While the new reissue will feature all of the original songs, such as ‘I Know It’s Over,’ ‘The Boy With the Thorn in His Side,’ ‘There is a Light That Never Goes Out’ and of course, ‘The Queen is Dead’ the new album will also feature early demos, and newly remastered B-sides that will include ‘Money Changes Everything,’ ‘Asleep,’ and ‘Unlovable.’

    Morrissey has written a press release.

    You cannot continue to record and simply hope that your audience will approve, or that average critics will approve, or that the radio will approve. You progress only when you wonder if an abnormally scientific genius would approve – and this is the leap The Smiths took with The Queen is Dead.

    Hear, hear!

    You will be able to purchase the new reissue on October 20th as either a double-CD, a deluxe boxed set with three CD’s and a DVD or a five-LP box (or all three). The additional LP sets and the DVD will feature a completely new and never-heard-before 13-song album, which they have called Live in Boston.
    Pre-order it here on Amazon: http://amzn.to/2uPEvtH

    Here’s the complete track list for The Queen is Dead:

    Disc 1
    01 The Queen is Dead (2017 Master)
    02 Frankly, Mr. Shankly (2017 Master)
    03 I know it’s Over (2017 Master)
    04 Never Had No One Ever (2017 Master)
    05 Cemetery Gates (2017 Master)
    06 Bigmouth Strikes Again (2017 Master)
    07 The Boy With the Thorn in His Side (2017 Master)
    08 Vicar in a Tutu (2017 Master)
    09 There is a Light That Never Goes Out (2017 Master)
    10 Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others (2017 Master)

    Disc 2
    01 The Queen is Dead (Full Version)
    02 Frankly, Mr. Shankly (Demo)
    03 I know it’s Over (Demo)
    04 Never Had No One Ever (Demo)
    05 Cemetery Gates (Demo)
    06 Bigmouth Strikes Again (Demo)
    07 Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others (Demo)
    08 The Boy With the Thorn in His Side (Demo Mix)
    09 There is a Light That Never Goes Out (Take 1)
    10 Rubber Ring (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]
    11 Asleep (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]
    12 Money Changes Everything (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]
    13 Unloveable (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]

    Disc 3 — Live in Boston
    01 How Soon Is Now?
    02 Hand In Glove
    03 I Want The One I Can’t Have
    04 Never Had No One Ever
    05 Stretch Out And Wait
    06 The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
    07 Cemetry Gates
    08 Rubber Ring/What She Said/Rubber Ring
    09 Is It Really So Strange?
    10 There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
    11 That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore
    12 The Queen Is Dead
    13 I Know It’s Over

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *